# CPO, CPA, and CAC

**CPO** (Cost per Order): **Cost To Acquire An Order.**

**CPA** (Cost per Acquisition): **Cost To Acquire a New Customer**

**CAC** (Customer Acquisition Cost): **Same as CPA** -> Cost to Acquire a New Customer

<figure><img src="https://content.gitbook.com/content/amTMWiPne1v1V3L7mbuj/blobs/qCS0lxcArBh1jEi10Nyg/CPO%20%20CPA%20%20CAC.png" alt=""><figcaption><p>Calculations for Each Metric</p></figcaption></figure>

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Marketing platforms (Facebook, Google Ads, Pinterest, etc.) do NOT know if the orders they have tracked are the first, second or some other order for that customer.&#x20;

**Marketing Platforms report on your CPO and not your CPA.**&#x20;
{% endhint %}

That this report from Google Ads:

<figure><img src="https://content.gitbook.com/content/amTMWiPne1v1V3L7mbuj/blobs/1PnGKj1zoYj016p6K4lO/ads.png" alt=""><figcaption><p>Example of Google Ads Report</p></figcaption></figure>

We Ran a campaign that Generated 5 orders and we spent $237 on that campaign.  By looking at our UTM campaign we found **3 New Customers and 2 Existing Customers placed an order.**

* CPO = $237 / 5 = $47.4
* CPA = $237 / 3 = $79
* CAC = $237 / 3 = $79

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